Any changes of residency status must be processed before the first day of the semester involved.
INSTATE RESIDENCY: When enrolling, the student is responsible for indicating the proper residence classification for tuition costs. If there is a question, the student should consult with personnel in the Registrar’s Office, or with registration personnel at other sites. Residency status is determined by procedures consistent with Kansas statutes. Copies of these statutes are available in the Registrar’s Office. Generally, residency is determined by length of residence---minimum of six months of established residency in Kansas and three or more of the following with dated 6 months prior to the semester involved:
a. Kansas registration of automobile
b. Payment of Kansas personal property tax
c. Kansas Voter registration
d. Kansas Job verification OR Kansas school attendance
e. Kansas driver’s license
f. 6 months of Kansas rent OR 6 months of Kansas utility receipts
g. Notarized statement from a Kansas resident verifying that student has resided with him or her for six months
To change residency, students must complete the Affidavit of Residency and provide 3 of the items from the list above by the first day of the semester involved. Documentation provided must indicate dates at least six months prior to the first day of the semester involved.
Appeal for Residency. If a student disagrees with his/her classification as a nonresident for tuition costs, he/she may file a written appeal within 30 days with the Registrar’s Office. The payment of tuition as originally assessed shall be a condition to the right to appeal residency classification. Failure to file an appeal within the time and manner specified makes classification by the Registrar’s Office final. For additional information, Registrar’s Office: (316) 322-3123 or direct 733-3123 from the Wichita/metro area or email firstname.lastname@example.org.